About Us About Us Just as the Poudre River flows through the region and sustains life across the high plains of northern Colorado, the Poudre River Public Library District is where the free flow of information cultivates growth and serves as a steady, limitless source of renewal for all of its communities.

The Poudre River Public Library District

Established in 2006 by voter approval, the Poudre River Public Library District’s resources serve more than 177,000 people across a vast 1,800 square-mile region in northern Larimer County, Colorado. Anchored by three libraries in Fort Collins, the District is dedicated to matching diverse communities needs, interests and priorities with exceptional opportunities for learning, intellectual stimulation and personal enjoyment.

Back to Top

Strategic Plan - Planning for Results

The Poudre River Public Library District has taken great strides to achieving our goals as designed in our 2008-2011 strategic plan. The Poudre River Public Library is much more than books. It is a family room where parents and children can learn and grow together, the original search engine that can answer questions and a virtual world that can give patrons access to new resources. The seven service priorities as identified in the plan are leading staff in identifying programs and services for all District residents. The 2009 year-end evaluation of these service priorities and organizational competencies helps the Library District plan for 2010.

View a detailed report at http://www.poudrelibraries.org/about/plans.html.

Back to Top

Board of Trustees

The Poudre River Public Library District is governed by an all-volunteer board of trustees appointed by city and county officials. The current board, composed of seven experienced community leaders, began its work immediately after being appointed in March, 2007.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing library operations; setting policy and for developing a long-range vision for the District. The Board is committed to representing the interests of residents, practicing responsible fiscal management of public funds, and delivering quality services that are responsive to community needs. The Board’s monthly meetings are open to the public.

Poudre River Public Library District Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees (clockwise starting at bottom left)
Mary Atchison, President
Michelle Kalkowski (Shelly), Secretary
John Knezovich, Treasurer
Robin Gard
Michael Liggett, Vice President
Linda Gabel
Nina Bodenhamer

Back to Top

2009 Awards and Grants

  • LEED® Platinum Certification by the U.S. Green Building Council and verified by the Green Building Certification Institute (GBCI)
    Council Tree Library commercial interiors design.
  • Top Ten List Committee — Young Adult Library Services Association
    Local teens from the Library District Interesting Reader Society have been selected as one of 15 teen groups in the nation to be nominators for a "teen choice" booklist.
  • History Comes Alive — FortFund Grant
    A popular monthly program featuring nationally known presenters who portray historical figures and bring history to life.
  • Colorado Association of Libraries — Partnership Award
    Given to Austin's Grill for its support of Children's Storytime programming.
Back to Top

Administrative Staff

Administrative Staff (clockwise starting at top left)
Lynda Dickson, Circulation & Shelving Services
Carson Block, IT Director
Ken Draves, Deputy Director Harmony Library
Currie Meyer, Council Tree Library
Jeff Barnes, Financial Officer
Paula Watson-Lakamp, Communications
Cynthia Langren, Executive Administrative Assistant
Lu Benke, Children's Services
Holly Carroll, Executive Director
Tova Aragon, Adult Services

Back to Top
Slide Handle
validate xhtml