About Us
Just as the Poudre River flows through the region and sustains life across the high plains of northern Colorado, the Poudre River Public Library District is where the free flow of information cultivates growth and serves as a steady, limitless source of renewal for all of its communities.

The Poudre River Public Library District

Established in 2006 by voter approval, the Poudre River Public Library District’s resources serve more than 177,000 people across a vast 1,800 square-mile region in northern Larimer County, Colorado. Anchored by three libraries in Fort Collins, the District is dedicated to matching diverse communities needs, interests and priorities with exceptional opportunities for learning, intellectual stimulation and personal enjoyment.Back to Top

Strategic Plan – Planning for Results

The Poudre River Public Library District has taken great strides to achieve our goals as designed in our 2008-2011 strategic plan. The seven service priorities as identified in the plan are leading staff in identifying programs and services for all District residents. As part of the planning process, organizational competencies in 12 key areas were identified to help the Library District achieve its service goals. Organizational competencies provide indirect benefits to community residents by improving the Library District’s effectiveness and efficiency.

Download a detailed report at http://www.poudrelibraries.org/about/plans.html.Back to Top

Board of Trustees

The Poudre River Public Library District is governed by an all-volunteer Board of Trustees appointed by City of Fort Collins and Larimer County officials. The current board, composed of seven experienced community leaders, is responsible for overseeing library operations, setting policy and for developing a long-range vision for the District. The Board is committed to representing the interests of residents, practicing responsible fiscal management of public funds, and delivering quality services that are responsive to community needs. The Board's monthly meetings are open to the public.

Poudre River Public Library District Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees (clockwise starting at bottom left)
Mary Atchison, President
Michelle Kalkowski (Shelly), Secretary
John Knezovich, Treasurer
Robin Gard
Michael Liggett, Vice President
Linda Gabel
Nina BodenhamerBack to Top

Administrative Staff

Administrative Staff (clockwise starting at top left)
Lynda Dickson, Circulation & Customer Experience
Carson Block, IT Director
Ken Draves, Deputy Director, Harmony Library
Currie Meyer, Council Tree Library
Jeff Barnes, Finance Officer
Paula Watson-Lakamp, Communications
Cynthia Langren, Executive Administrative Assistant
Lu Benke, Children's Services (through July 2010)
Holly Carroll, Executive Director
Tova Aragon, Collections (Adult Services through July 2010)
Jean Gullikson (not pictured), Main Library
Back to Top

2010 Awards and Grants

  • History Comes Alive — FortFund Grant
    A popular monthly program featuring nationally known presenters who portray historical figures and bring history to life.
  • Victorian Fest — Fort Fund Grant
    A popular day-long festival featuring a step back in time to the Victorian Days in Fort Collins.
  • National Library Week Grant
    Sponsored by Scholastic Library Publishing and administered by the American Library Association's (ALA) Public Awareness Committee, for the best public awareness campaign in support of National Library Week.
  • National Endowment for the Humanities Grant
    Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women. Public programming in association with this grant will be in 2011.

Back to Top


Slide Handle

validate xhtml