Skip Navigation
My Account
What's New
How do I?

Library Board of Trustees

There are currently two (2) openings on the Library Board of Trustees. Applications are due by 12:00 noon on Tuesday, February 14, 2023. One appointment is for a full, 4-year term. The other appointment is to finish out the final year of an existing term. Both positions have the option to serve an additional 4-year term.

Serving as a Library Trustee is a rewarding way to give back to your community and to ensure the ongoing success of your public libraries. The seven-member volunteer Library Board are advocates for the library in the community and are responsible for governing the District, including guiding its mission, providing policy oversight, planning for future library service, and overseeing the budget. They are a positive face of the Library throughout the community.

Applications for the current openings will be accepted online and in person starting January 23, 2023. The deadline to submit an application is 12:00 noon on Tuesday, February 14, 2023.

Applications are also available at the libraries and Webster House Administrative Center during open hours. Applications may be subject to the Colorado Open Records Act and should not be considered confidential.

Poudre River Public Library District Trustees are volunteers, jointly appointed by the City of Fort Collins and Larimer County to govern the Poudre River Public Library District. The Board adopts and oversees the budget, formulates bylaws and policies, conducts strategic planning, and hires and evaluates the library executive director.

The seven-member Board of Trustees is committed to representing the interests of residents, practicing responsible fiscal management of public funds, and delivering quality services responsive to the needs of Northern Colorado.


Board meetings are typically held the second Monday of the month at 4:00 pm and rotate among the three library locations. Board meetings are open to the public.


The Library Board can be contacted by submitting a comment.

Board of Trustees Bylaws

Bylaws 1/14/2020 (PDF)

Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA)

IGA 12/18/2007 (PDF)


The Board consists of seven members, all appointed to four-year terms. Trustees may serve no more than two consecutive full terms. Trustees serve as volunteers and do not receive financial compensation for their service. The Library District's executive director and deputy director serve as representatives to the Board.

Trustees can be released from their term by a majority vote of the appointing governmental bodies but only upon a showing of good cause as defined but not limited to the bylaws (governed by Colorado law 24-90-108).

  • Be at least 18 years of age and a resident within the District service area.
  • Be knowledgeable and interested in the community potential of public libraries and the issues surrounding them.
  • Be willing to commit the time necessary to carry out the duties of a Trustee. This includes the time necessary to attend Board of Trustees meetings. It also includes availability to attend library programs and time needed to fulfill Board assignments.
  • Understand the local community and its social and cultural needs.
  • Be able to withstand pressures, prejudice, and provincialism that would restrict or prevent equal library service to all.
  • Be able to work toward a common goal with others including other board trustees, the Executive Director, District staff, and members of library support organizations.
  • Be genuinely interested in advocating for public libraries and understand the importance of public libraries in meeting the educational, recreational, and informational needs of our community.

Colorado Library law (CR 24-90-109) defines the formation as well as the powers and duties of Colorado library district trustees. The governmental bodies that founded Poudre River Public Library Trust District - in this case, Larimer County and the City of Fort Collins retain the authority to appoint and, if necessary, to remove library trustees.

  • Two representatives from each of the two participating governmental bodies - Larimer County and the City of Fort Collins - create a committee responsible for appointing the Board of Trustees.
  • Trustees are named by majority vote, requiring 2/3 majority ratification by the founding governmental bodies.

Any details not covered by law are defined in collaboration with our governing bodies.

Current Annual Report

My Account Library Locations What's New Research Download How do I? Events Kids Teens Espanol - Spanish site
Prospector FRCC
Facebook Twitter River's Mouth Blog Instagram Pininterest LinkedIn Flickr You Tube