Skip Navigation
My Account
    What's New
    How Do I?

Library Board of Trustees

Poudre River Public Library District Trustees are volunteers, jointly appointed by the City of Fort Collins and Larimer County to govern the Poudre River Public Library District. The Board adopts and oversees the budget, formulates bylaws and policies, conducts strategic planning, and hires and evaluates the library executive director.

The seven-member Board of Trustees is committed to representing the interests of residents, practicing responsible fiscal management of public funds, and delivering quality services responsive to the needs of Northern Colorado.


Board meetings are typically held the second Monday of the month at 4:00 pm and rotate among the three library locations. Board meetings are open to the public.


The Library Board can be contacted by submitting a comment.

Board of Trustees Bylaws

Bylaws 1/14/2020 (PDF)

Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA)

IGA 12/18/2007 (PDF)


The Board consists of seven members, all appointed to four-year terms. Trustees may serve no more than two consecutive full terms. Trustees serve as volunteers and do not receive financial compensation for their service. The Library District's executive director and deputy director serve as representatives to the Board.

Trustees can be released from their term by a majority vote of the appointing governmental bodies but only upon a showing of good cause as defined but not limited to the bylaws (governed by Colorado law 24-90-108).

There are no current openings on the Library Board of Trustees.

  • Be at least 18 years of age and a resident within the District service area.
  • Be knowledgeable and interested in the community potential of public libraries and the issues surrounding them.
  • Be willing to commit the time necessary to carry out the duties of a Trustee. This includes the time necessary to attend Board of Trustees meetings. It also includes availability to attend library programs and time needed to fulfill Board assignments.
  • Understand the local community and its social and cultural needs.
  • Be able to withstand pressures, prejudice, and provincialism that would restrict or prevent equal library service to all.
  • Be able to work toward a common goal with others including other board trustees, the Executive Director, District staff, and members of library support organizations.
  • Be genuinely interested in advocating for public libraries and understand the importance of public libraries in meeting the educational, recreational, and informational needs of our community.

Colorado Library law (CR 24-90-109) defines the formation as well as the powers and duties of Colorado library district trustees. The governmental bodies that founded Poudre River Public Library Trust District - in this case, Larimer County and the City of Fort Collins retain the authority to appoint and, if necessary, to remove library trustees.

  • Two representatives from each of the two participating governmental bodies - Larimer County and the City of Fort Collins - create a committee responsible for appointing the Board of Trustees.
  • Trustees are named by majority vote, requiring 2/3 majority ratification by the founding governmental bodies.

Any details not covered by law are defined in collaboration with our governing bodies.

Current Annual Report

My Account
What's New
How Do I?
Library Cards
Summer Adventure
Prospector FRCC